1,000 Places to See Before You Die

by Jess

I’ve only just begun Patricia Schultz’s self-proclaimed traveler’s life list, but it’s clearly not a cover-to-cover read; it’s a browser’s book.  So far, I’ve been flipping through to see how many of the 1,000 I’ve hit.  I’ve done a small bit of traveling, and my journeys included the following must-see sites:

  • Madrid, Spain
  • The Anne Frank House, Netherlands
  • Amsterdam, Netherlands
  • Parque Nacional Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
  • The Insider Passage and Glacier Bay, Alaska
  • Everglades National Park, Florida
  • Key West, Florida
  • South Beach, Florida
  • Walt Disney World, Florida (Seriously?  This made the list?)
  • Chesapeake Bay
  • The Freedom Trail, Boston
  • New York City
  • The Outer Banks
  • Rock and Roll Hall of Fame
  • Gettysburg, PA
  • Charleston, SC
  • Monticello
  • Shenandoah Valley
  • Colonial Williamsburg
  • Pike Place Market, Seattle
  • The National Mall and Monuments
  • Smithsonian Museums
  • West Virginia’s White Water Rafting

Unfortunately, nowhere I’ve been in California, Mexico, Canada, or Kenya made the list, just a bunch of tourist spots in the US.  It’s an interesting enough book, but you get the feeling that if you were asked to make a list of 1,000 places to see before you die, your list would not be the same as Schultz’s.  For example, she cites a ton of museums, but if you’re not the museum-going type, you can cut this list by a third (or maybe a ninth — I’m not good with fractions).  And then there are entries like Restaurant Bruderholz in Basel, Switzerland, where dinner will set you back $80, and which, even if I were to one day visit Basel, Switzerland, I likely would not patronize.

