A lament & Dan Brown

by Jess

What is the world coming to?  I inexplicably spent three hours last night watching a Real Housewives of New York City marathon, and today’s Business Know-How Newsletter touts the headline “5 Rules of Twitter Etiquette.”  It occurs to me that our priorities may be out of order.  As we say back home, Ubi sunt qui ante nos fuerunt?

On a brighter note, though, I was browsing through Language Log and happened to stumble upon Geoffrey K. Pullum’s hilarious article about the shortcomings of Dan Brown’s book The Da Vinci Code (Pullum has also written many, many articles about the shortcomings of Brown’s other books).  It’s long and it’s dated (originally published May 1, 2004), but I enjoyed it.  Pullum says near the beginning, “I am still trying to come up with a fully convincing account of just what it was about his very first sentence, indeed the very first word, that told me instantly that I was in for a very bad time stylistically.”  Joke’s on you, Dan.

