“I’m going to have a party”

by Jess

I’m completely obsessed with Nada Surf’s “Blankest Year.”  I’m playing it for I think the twenty-fifth time in a row.  The video on the link is really worth a watch, too.  It’s filmed completely with old-school projection, no digital or computerized editing.

In other, and more important, news, Elizabeth Strout has won the Pulitzer for Olive Kitteridge.  Strout is an instructor at Queens, where I got my MFA, so, counting my undergraduate mentor Claudia Emerson, that brings my acquaintance with Pulitzer Prize-winning authors to no fewer than two.  I seem to have that effect on people.  (This can only bode well for my young protege, David.)

And in other, other news, my short story, “Coin-Operated Boy” has been officially selected for publication.  This will give me what the kids call street cred.

