From me to me

by Jess

I ordered two books from my wishlist on Powell’s Books what seems like ages ago, and they finally arrived last night.  Unai Elorriaga’s Plants Don’t Drink Coffee and Christie Mellor’s The Three-Martini Playdate: A Practical Guide to Happy Parenting.

Elorraiga’s slim novel will be the first book I’ve ever read translated from the Basque, which is quite exciting, and at only a few pages in, I’m already struck by its whimsy.  In her Bookslut review, Erica Wetter says, “Elorriaga’s Plants Don’t Drink Coffee is a smartly written tale about a family of nutballs trying to sort things out.”  Sounds perfect.

And the parenting guide, well, that’s self-explanatory.  It has chapters named things like “Saying No to Your Child: It’s a Kick!” “Screaming: Is it Necessary?” “Child Labor: Not Just for the Third World” and “Self-Esteem and Other Overrated Concepts.”  This book is going to rule.

