Miami by taste

by Jess

The Little and I just got home from a trip to Miami to see my familia.  We arrived Sunday and left Wednesday, but we spent most of Monday at the pediatric ER, Tuesday at a pediatrician’s office, and nine hours on Wednesday in the Ft. Lauderdale airport.  That left about one day’s worth of visiting time, and we were basically under quarantine.

As luck would have it, we stayed with my Tio Gustavito and Tia Luisita.  Gustavito is maybe the best cook I know, and he taught me how to make the perfect cafe con leche and cortadito.  He drove across town to get the best pastelitos, and he made us carne con papas (meat with potatoes), pudin de pan (bread pudding), and the best pan con lechon I’ve ever had.  We also made a stop by Sarussi for a few of their famous sandwiches (original, pollo, y churrasco, my favorite).

Now I’m home, exhausted and sniffly, and it’s 44 degrees outside, so I’m trying to recreate a little bit of sunny Miami here in my house.

Sandwich cubano, Sarussi, y cortadito

On the left is a small portion of a Cuban sandwich made by my uncle.  It may be the best sandwich I’ve ever eaten, and sadly, it was just a few bites of pure heaven.  Anyway, a Cuban sandwich is a very simple creature: pickles, pork, ham, cheese, and bread.  It’s the quality and particular type of those ingredients, though, that makes it distinctly Cuban.

On the right is a Sarussi with chicken.  It’s a bit more involved than the original Sarussi, which was essentially a basic Cuban sandwich with a special tomato-based sauce, but now you can get them with a variety of meats and they come topped with tiny potato sticks.  The best part about the Sarussi is that the bread is coated in garlic butter, so you can lick your fingertips after each bite for a little extra yum.

And in the demitasse is my very own cortadito.  I’ll add a little less sugar next time, but otherwise, I thought it was great.

Have I made you hungry?  Go make yourself a sandwich, and buen provecho!

