Best book of 2010

by Jess

Eyeshot spurns lists of best books published in a given year.  Instead, they offer the best book (by far) that they read in 2010 — Life: A User’s Manual by Georges Perec.  It’s “highly recommended to people who like to read, especially those readers into towering literary artistry (ie, audicious, original, extraordinarily well-executed, life-affirming, good-natured, inspiring masterpieces).”

What is the best book you read in 2010?  I’d have a hard time picking one from among my favorites over the past year, which were, chronologically:

White Teeth – Zadie Smith

The Cider House Rules – John Irving

Hush Up and Listen Stinky Poo Butt – Ken Sparling

How to Breathe Underwater – Julie Orringer

A Canticle for Leibowitz – Walter Miller

The Things They Carried – Tim O’Brien

One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest – Ken Kesey

Hm.  I’m going to have to work on multiculturalism in 2011.  My prediction is that the best book of 2011 is going to be an outlier, just some book I happen to pick up by chance that totally changes my life. Or it may be one of these books.

 



