Kid books don’t have to suck

by Jess

Books

So we recently went on a book-buying binge around here. But not for me, this time. For the boys. Yes, I know they are barely aged 3 and 5, but that’s all the more reason to expose them to great literature while they are still nice and impressionable. There are so many good books out there for kids that don’t have anything to do with Captain Underpants or whatever his name is. We got The Classics Illustrated copy of Poe’s The Raven and Other Poems; two graphic novels, one on Beowulf and one on King Arthur; a nicely illustrated Treasury of Greek Mythology; and David and Karen Mains’ Tales of the Kingdom series (not pictured). These will fit in perfectly with our children’s copy of The Iliad and The Odyssey, which C. likes to read to the boys before bed. Now, if I could only find an illustrated copy of The Metamorphosis so I could pull it out whenever H. asks me to tell him the story about “the man who turns into a giant bug.”

